label + mailorder service

Cracks & Scars – Stick To Your Guns (ABCD003)


CD (4-panel digipack with 11-page booklet, 500 copies)
LP (released by Steeltown)
Description: Debute CD from this German HC/streetpunk band. Featuring ex-members from Miozän, I Defy and Guts & Glory.
Release date: 01 August 2012
Available: CD is sold out, but some distro’s might still have it in stock
1 – Rotten To The Core
2 – Next In Line
3 – Walk It Like You Talk It
4 – Anyway
5 – Dead & Gone
6 – Lowlife
7 – Bitter Story
8 – No Matter
9 – Not In This Life
10 – Misery Loves Company
11 – Bottoms Up
12 – Just Time

Out Of Step (6 november 2012)
Cracks & Scars is established in 2009 by former members of Miozän, Souls on Fire, Guts & Glory, Maskapone and I Defy. The result is a hardcore band influenced by 77 punk, 80s hardocre and British Oi.
Fans of Agnostic Front can buy this record without hesitation because vocalist Frank sometimes remind me of Roger Miret. This doesn’t mean that Cracks & Scars is an Agnostic Front clone, no they certainly have a face of their own and know how to create some decent streetcore songs full of anger, social critisism, melody and sing-along parts.
‘Stick To Your Guns’ is a strong debut full-length by this young band full of HC/punk veterans that will appeal to the fans of hardcore and streetpunk. Rating: 8/10

Massmovement (11 september 2013)
This is the new full length from Hannover punk rock veterans Cracks & Scars. Although the band hasn’t been going all that long, their heritage stretches back through the likes of Guts n Glory, the tremendous Souls On Fire and old school hardcore band Miozan. I was kind of expecting some straight up streetpunk here, but these guys have a few more bullets in the chamber. As well as firing hard and fast they seem to have a love of loud brash guitars and they are not ashamed to turn on the rock with a cheeky nod to the likes of the Hellacopters from time to time. In fact the whole album gives off a similar vibe to prime Roger Miret & The Disasters – a love of all things underground punk rock blazing on all cylinders. The title of the album couldn’t be truer, as these guys have permanently forged their own paths playing the music that keeps their flame burning and that honesty shines through on here making this a very authentic prime slab of punk rock

Ox Fanzine #105 (december 2012)

Nach der Auflösung von GUTS’N’GLORY (geniale Band!) melden sich die verbliebenen drei Hannoveraner mit ergänzter Besetzung und altem Konzept zurück. Und das heißt: betont knochentrockener Punk alter Schule mit leichtem Hardcore-Touch.
Sänger Frank klingt wie eh und je angepisst und hat seit dem Demo „Hold Fast“ noch eine Schippe Verachtung in seiner Performance draufgelegt. Leider fehlt über die gesamte Länge der CD bislang ein gewisser Wiedererkennungswert bei den Songs, was die Scheibe aber keineswegs schlecht macht.
Zwei, drei Runden im Player später entfalten die Songs ihre Wirkung und die Zeitreise in die Achtziger ist perfekt, in der ein wütender Mob noch Präsenz „on the streets“ zeigte und nicht bei Facebook.

Moloko Plus (16 september 2012)
Drei Mann der verblichenen Guts’N’Glory holen sich zwei neue Leute ins Boot und frisieren das alte G’N’G-Rezept auf „schärfer“ um: will sagen, das ist jetzt härter, bleibt aber angenehm melodisch und Hardcore ist Einfluss, nicht Maxime. Als würde der alte Sound der Vorgängerband gekreuzt mit Discipline und Agnostic Front in deren „Riot, riot, upstart“-Phase.
Klingt wuchtig und geht gut ins Bein, ein Schuss mehr Eigenständigkeit / Wiedererkennungswert allerdings wäre für die nahe Zukunft vielleicht wünschenswert, die Songs sind sich untereinander sehr, sehr ähnlich. Rating: 6/10



This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Releases and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: